,

We Do Improv! We Recommend Fall Books! We Talk Sports!

Books to Spark Creativity

 

Today on the podcast, we follow-up on Liz Dolan’s whereabouts (The World Track & Field Championships in Doha), the new law in California for college athletes, some Fall Organizing tips that we don’t want to follow, our Fall Book Recommendations and interview Jorjeana Marie about using improv to spark creativity.

Thanks to Jorjeana Marie for coming into the studio. Find out more about her and her book Improv for Writers here.

Fall Books We Love

 

The Dutch House– Ann Patchett

Beautifully written novel about a broken family and the two siblings that emrege from the wreckage. Novel of memory– a warning. You’re either going to love that– or not.  But the relationship between the brother and sister is the heart of this book. Lots in here for readers and book clubs to chew on about family relationships– from absent mothers, to maligned stepmothers to the household help that step in to raise the siblings. Lian

 

 

The Nobodies– Liza Palmer

This is a super fun page turner about a former journalist that goes to work at a tech companyy as the lowest person in the department. But her journalistic instincts kick in when she senses something in off behind the scenes. Liza Palmer is the best-selling author of Conversations with the fat Girl and she based her novel on her real life experiences going to work at BuzzFeed. So sososososo funny. Lian

We Met in December– Rosie Curtis

For fans of Rom Coms and British people saying funny British things and drinking way too much on the weeknights. Engaging romance that unfurls over a calendar year. Lian

 

 

 

 

 

Bringing Down the Duke — Evie Dunmore

Take a regency romance and ramp it up with a fun storyline you don’t see often– women’s suffrage! Sharp, sexy, fun. Delightful. Lian

 

A Single Thread — Tracy Chevalier

A pre-World War II story about a women who uses her stitching to connect with other women and the world. Great storytelling from this bestselling author. Julie

 

 

 

Things You Save in a Fire — Katherine Center

Firefighters. Boston. Romance. Funny. We’re in! Julie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Novel by Lian Dolan out April 2020

Want to be in the know for give-aways about Lian’s new novel? Join  GoodReads + sign up for the newsletter at BookClubGirl for The Sweeney Sisters give-aways

Thanks to our sponsors:

  • Brooklinen – Use the code Sisters at checkout
  • ThirdLove – Use this URL
  • Joybird – Use the code sisters25 at checkout
  • The New Yorker – use this URL