,

Best Beach Bag Books 2022

 

Welcome to our 2022 Satellite Sisters Best Beach Bag Books. We picked a wide variety of great beach reads to get you through the summer at the lake, a week in the  mountains, even a staycation at home.

Find our Best Beach Bag Books podcast here. 

Find all the books here at Bookshop.org. Support Indie Bookstores while supporting writers. 

Thrillers, Mysteries

The Murder Rule
By Dervla McTiernan
Law students works on an Innocent Project case for her own personal reasons. Page turning legal thriller with strong characters and rising stakes.

Listen to our interview with Dervla here. 

See How They Run
by Rachel Howzell Hall
An Audible original. You’ll never go “glamping” again with glancing over your shoulder! Great road trip thriller on audio.

The Second Husband
by Kate White
Emma looks likes she’s rebounded after her first husband’s murder with a perfect second huband, a beautiful house and a thriving business. But when the murder case is re-opened, her world starts to unravel in this psychological thriller by vet writer Kate White.

The Pink Hotel
By Liska Jacobs
Confined to an opulent Beverly Hills hotel during a raging wildfire, a young couple is caught in the escalating tension between the wealthy guests and the staff, in a blistering, dark social satire.

 

The Homewreckers

By Mary Kay Andrews 

Summer begins with Mary Kay Andrews! Expect snappy dialogue, sharp pacing and murder! Plus, house flipping, renovations and true love.

Historical Fiction

The Yellow Wife
By Sedeqa Johnson
An engrossing story follows an enslaved woman forced to barter love and freedom while living in the most infamous slave jail in Virginia.

Mustique Island
By Sarah McCoy
A sun-splashed romp with a rich divorcee and her two wayward daughters in 1970s Mustique, the world’s most exclusive private island, where Princess Margaret and Mick Jagger were regulars and scandals stayed hidden from the press…

Sister Stardust

by Jane Green
In her first novel inspired by a true story, Jane Green re-imagines the life of troubled icon Talitha Getty in this transporting story from a forgotten chapter of the Swinging ’60s

Angels of the Pacific
by Elise Hooper
A powerful new novel of the Angels of Bataan, nurses held as prisoners during the occupation of the Philippines in World War II. Well-researched, character driven fiction.

The Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons
By Kate Khavari
The Lost Apothecary meets Dead Dead Girls in this fast-paced, STEMinist adventure.
Debut author Kate Khavari deftly entwines a pulse-pounding mystery with the struggles of a woman in a male-dominated field in 1923 London.

Family Dynamics

Vacationland
by Meg Mitchell Moore
A delicious summer read set in midcoast Maine, tackling family secrets, marriage, motherhood, and privilege.

Super Fun Summer Romances!

The Bodyguard
by Katherine Center
A plus feel good rom-com with an unusual West Texas setting and a terrific main couple with lots of appeal

Nora Goes off Script
by Annabelle Monaghan 
Attention, Hallmark movie lovers! This is a funny, sharply observed rom-com with a screenwriter main character and the actor that comes into her life. Just a fun, fresh take.

The Emma Project
by Sonali Dev
The final chapter in the Rajes series. Emma gets a fresh Indian-American twist in a heartwarmingly irresistible Jane Austen inspired rom com series.

The Power Couple
by Alex Berenson
Julie read this on a beach! She works for the FBI doing counterespionage and he works for the NSA. After two decades of marriage and two kids, the couple tries to rekindle the romance in their marriage with a European vacation. Their teenage kids are along for the fun until the unimaginable happens. A good suspenseful read.

In a New York Minute
By Kate Spencer
A clever, tender, and romantic romp for readers of Jasmine Guillory, Abby Jimenez, and Sophie Cousens, this funny and charming debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor, and that love can happen in a New York minute.

Non-Fiction

The Palace Papers
by Tina Brown
A 2022 summer must read. The inside story on how the British monarchy reinvented itself after Princess Diana’s death. Tina Brown has been a keen observer of the royal family for thirty years. Lots of juicy details and keen insights.

Memoir

Hello, Molly
by Molly Shannon
A candid, compulsively readable, hilarious, and heartbreaking memoir of resilience and redemption by comedic genius Molly Shannon

Bookends: A memoir of Love, Loss and Literature
by Zibby Owens
A deeply personal memoir about one woman’s journey to finding her voice and rewriting her story by the creator and host of the award-winning podcast Moms Don’t Have Time to Read Books(TM).

 

Find the booklist and purchase books here. 

Find the podcast with Dervla McTiernan here.

Find Best Beach Bag Books 2021 here.